- Can you touch the ball after it hits the backboard?
- What is the 3 second rule basketball?
- What is the 8 second rule in basketball?
- Is Catching your own airball a travel?
- Is Self Alley Oop legal?
- Can you catch and shoot with .3 seconds?
- Why is hand checking illegal?
- How many seconds can you hold the ball without dribbling moving passing or shooting?
- Is self pass a NBA rule?
- Can you dribble after catching your own airball?
- Can you punch a basketball in a game?
- What is it called when two or more opposing players gain possession of the ball at the same time?
- Can you block a three pointer?
- Can you catch the ball and take two steps?
- Why isn’t a eurostep a travel?
- Is touching the net goaltending?
- What is the penalty for a held ball?
- Can you goaltend a dunk?
Can you touch the ball after it hits the backboard?
ANSWER: Under all codes, a ball hitting the top of the backboard (as well as the sides and bottom) is considered as “in play.” However, if the ball goes OVER the top or touches any of the supporting braces above or behind the backboard, it is considered to be out of bounds..
What is the 3 second rule basketball?
The O3 rule states that an offensive player cannot be in the lane for more than three seconds while his team has control of the ball.
What is the 8 second rule in basketball?
This is an example of an 8 Second violation. The offensive team must advance the ball over the midcourt line before 8 seconds has passed. On this play, the offensive player with the ball DOES NOT advance the ball over the mid court line before the allowed 8 Seconds has passed.
Is Catching your own airball a travel?
Surprisingly, no, it’s not traveling anywhere except the NBA. … Catching your own airball is allowed if it was a legitimate shot unless you’re playing your pickup game according to NBA rules, which makes you a douchebag.
Is Self Alley Oop legal?
It is legal to throw the ball off the backboard as a pass to yourself. The only time it is illegal is when attempting a free throw.
Can you catch and shoot with .3 seconds?
3 seconds or less on the clock, a player can’t catch and shoot, only tip a ball into the basket. Cal lobbed a pass in and it was caught and shot off the backboard for the apparent score sending the game into overtime.
Why is hand checking illegal?
Hand-checking is defined as illegal contact by a defensive player which impedes the forward and/or lateral movement of the offensive player. Hand-checking should be dealt with early in the game, with particular attention being paid during perimeter play and drives to the basket.
How many seconds can you hold the ball without dribbling moving passing or shooting?
five secondsOn an inbounds play, the passer must pass the basketball within five seconds or it will be awarded to the defense. If an offensive player is closely guarded, he cannot hold the ball for more than five seconds without dribbling, passing or shooting it.
Is self pass a NBA rule?
A player may not be the first to touch his own pass unless the ball touches his backboard, basket ring or another player.
Can you dribble after catching your own airball?
1. “You can’t rebound your own airball!” … It doesn’t matter whether your shot hits the rim, the backboard, or just air molecules — as long as its an intentional shot, you can be the first person to touch it on a rebound.
Can you punch a basketball in a game?
— A player is called for a violation if he punches the ball with with a closed fist. … The player from team A gets the ball and many yell for the backcourt call, but it is not a violation because once an offensive player shoots the ball there is no longer offensive team control.
What is it called when two or more opposing players gain possession of the ball at the same time?
Double Dribble. Dribbling the ball with both hands on the ball at the same time or picking up the dribble and then dribbling again is a double dribble. Only $2.99/month. Held ball. Occasionally, two or more opposing players will gain possession of the ball at the same time.
Can you block a three pointer?
1 Answer. This is called goaltending and is prohibited. In basketball, if you block a shot after it’s started descending, it is ruled to be goaltending and the basket is counted automatically.
Can you catch the ball and take two steps?
A player who receives the ball while he is progressing or upon completion of a dribble, may take two steps in coming to a stop, passing or shooting the ball. … In this situation, the player may not pivot with either foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball must be released before either returns to the floor.
Why isn’t a eurostep a travel?
They then explained why it was, in fact, a legal play and the officials made the correct call by not considering it traveling: This is NOT a travel, it is a legal move. Watch closely: Harden picks up the ball with his right foot still on the ground. This doesn’t count as a step.
Is touching the net goaltending?
It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. … Goaltending is contacting the ball on its downward flight, above the level of the rim, with a chance to go in.
What is the penalty for a held ball?
Most violations are committed by the team with possession of the ball, when a player mishandles the ball or makes an illegal move. The typical penalty for a violation is loss of the ball to the other team. This is one type of turnover.
Can you goaltend a dunk?
11: Basket Interference – Goaltending. EXCEPTION: If a player near his own basket has his hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if his contact with the ball continues after the ball enters the cylinder, or if, in such action, he touches the basket. …